Frankincense Cures the Blues: And Other Uses

frankincense-resin-incense-pack

Disclaimer: I’m not a doctor or mental health professional. If you think you might have serious depression or panic attacks please see a doctor. There, that’s out of the way.

~~~~~~~~~

There is scientific evidence that frankincense can relieve depression and anxiety in mice. The abstract for the scientific paper can be read here. You can also read the article on frankincense on Wikipedia (which is where I got the above link). Through personally trying it out I can confidently state that frankincense has the same beneficial effect on me.

What does this have to do with sorcery? Aside from the sorcerous connotations of burning clouds of frankincense, it’s a basic principle of sorcery — or it ought to be — that mundane efforts and sorcerous efforts should always be worked alongside each other. And if the sorceress herself is depressed or has a panic attack, what is she to do? It’s hard to do magic when depressed, and it’s impossible when having a panic attack. The cunning sorcerer/sorceress resorts to mundane uses of materia magica. (She also resorts to chamomile tea and valerian capsules.)

The sheer effectiveness of breathing rather thick frankincense smoke for an hour astounds me. This presupposes a rather small room, easily fillable with incense smoke. If you’re house is huge, or you happen to be unavoidably outside, wafting the smoke into your face and breathing it in deeply will suffice nicely. That’s the treatment.

Here’s some anecdotal evidence. After a long stressful day yesterday I had a very, very sudden panic attack at about 9pm. I went to my shed, lit the charcoal and put it in the censer, and sprinkled a few lumps of frankincense on it. Soon the smoke was a think fog in the small shed. I added a couple more lumps of frankincense and sat down to meditate. I dozed off for a few moments, and then continued to try and meditate. I had some odd visions of following a stag through a forest at night that just came to me with no will or effort on my part. I added one more lump to the censer, and my frankincense “bath” lasted about an hour or maybe seventy minutes all told. —My panic attack was almost completely gone. A slightly elevated heart rate was all that was left of it.

Then I took two valerian capsules and went to bed early.

I know from experience that the same treatment is effective for me against a feeling of mild to moderate depression. I’m not a doctor, as I said, and if you think you may have major depression, please see a doctor, but — it works for me. If life has got you down, give it a try.

Frankincense does not work, however, for everyone. A few friends have told me over the Internet that frankincense has no psychoactive properties for them. You may be one of this unfortunate group. So the title of this blog entry isn’t a promise, it’s just a probability.

If you don’t know where to get any frankincense I can recommend two places. For the highest quality visit http://www.alchemy-works.com/. Harold Roth carries the best herbal and other plant products sold on the Internet, in my opinion. You should also visit http://www.luckymojo.com. Their frankincense works just fine, but it’s the astounding number of different items they sell there that you should look into and explore.

~~~~~~~~~

A Note and a Question.

Frankincense also has the property of drawing good spirits. By “good” I mean spirits who are more compatible with humanity and are more likely to do you a good turn if you ask them, maybe even for free. Their simple presence increases the degree of pleasantness in an area. They lighten and improve the atmosphere or the vibe of a place when they are around.

To me this raises a question. How much is the lack of these good spirits responsible for one’s low mood or anxiety in the first place? How much does the presence of mostly “bad” spirits cause one’s low mood or anxiety?

Usually people speak of how call ’em bad spirits are attracted to sickness, depression, anxiety, etc. They’re not commonly seen as an underlying cause of the condition. In fact the notion that spirits cause sickness might be viewed by some as primitive and superstitious. —But what evidence do we have that we’re not getting cause and effect backwards in our modern thinking?

It could well be, in my opinion, that the presence of the good spirits drawn to your frankincense home remedy is a contributing cause to the efficacy of frankincense. We are not just chemistry: we humans too are also spirits.

My 2¢ worth. —Much love, Rachel Izabella

6 thoughts on “Frankincense Cures the Blues: And Other Uses

  1. Gerry says:

    Hi Rachel, many thanks for this post, I’m going to give it a try, at the moment under a lot of stress looking for a new home, so this might be what I need to try to ease some of that stress. As for negative spirits being attracted to anxiety and sickness causing a feedback loop, well from my experiences I definitely think there is something to be said for that, and you’re not far off the mark there.
    much love to you, Gerry.

    • Rachel Izabella says:

      You’re very welcome, Gerry! It works so well for me that I had to share it. I hope it works for you as well.

      Much love, Rachel

  2. leftystray says:

    Love this! Haven’t tried frankincense, although I’ve heard a little bit about it benefits before (I am always worried if I use loose incense all the smoke alarms in the apartment complex will go off!), but I would like to. I agree with the idea that mental or physical illness could be related to harmful entities. Great post, thanks!

    • Rachel Izabella says:

      If you do give it a try, Leftystray, let us all know whether or not it worked for you here in the comment section. I mean, do what thou wilt and all, but if you feel like it, ya know. Thanks for the comment! Much love, Rachel

  3. “How much is the lack of these good spirits responsible for one’s low mood or anxiety in the first place? How much does the presence of mostly “bad” spirits cause one’s low mood or anxiety?”

    I think it’s likely to be a feedback loop. There are always negs out there, which cannot attach to a well-balanced, non-jangly aura, but will gladly feast on the other kind. Once life has gotten us into a broken state, we easily get infested. It’s totally analogous to common germs not causing disease until the immune system lags in its efforts for any of a number of reasons.

    • Rachel Izabella says:

      That’s been my understanding, though I’m attempting as I type to put a possibility more sinister into words and failing… Another time, I guess. Thanks for your comment as always, Freeman. ❤ Rachel Izabella

      PS — thanks for reminding me I should do the Adjuration of Metatron tonight. This stress, the panic attacks … I'm probably infested. -R

Leave a Reply

